Tags

, , , , , , ,

Reading:                                         Psalm 116

(Verses 1-9)

I love the LORD, for he heard my voice;
he heard my cry for mercy.
Because he turned his ear to me,
I will call on him as long as I live.

The cords of death entangled me,
the anguish of the grave came over me;
I was overcome by distress and sorrow.
Then I called on the name of the L
ORD:
“L
ORD, save me!”

The LORD is gracious and righteous;
our God is full of compassion.
The L
ORD protects the unwary;
when I was brought low, he saved me.

Return to your rest, my soul,
for the L
ORD has been good to you.

For you, LORD, have delivered me from death,
my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling,
that I may walk before the L
ORD
in the land of the living
(NIV).

Reflection

Recently, on a family level I experienced the power and truth of these words: For you, LORD, have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling, that I may walk before the LORD in the land of the living. 

img_20161106_111937

My mother with her commemorative quilt, Trinity Church, Churchbridge, SK — photo by David Kitz

About six weeks ago on a Saturday evening, I got a call from my brother. My alert and active, ninety-three-year-old mother had suffered a stroke. Fortunately, this happened while in hospital, as she was in recovery from having a heart pacemaker implanted. Clot dissolving drugs could be administered. But…

But my mother is a hemophiliac—a bleeder. In her case, the clot dissolvers could easily result in a brain hemorrhage leading to death. The doctors needed us to decide on a course of action. The choice was between taking no action, and having my mother permanently disabled by the stroke, or administering a remedy that could kill her. This is the dilemma we faced.

We decided to have the doctors proceed with the clot dissolving drugs. We resolved to pray and trust God for the best outcome. And God answered by bringing my mother through with no symptoms of a stroke whatsoever. Zero. Two weeks later she was standing in front of her church, proudly displaying a quilt she had made to mark the 70th anniversary of the congregation. Yes, and just to remind us that this recovery was God’s doing, she had a significant bleeding incident earlier that week from her pacemaker incision. You, LORD, have delivered me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.

Response: Father God, I love you LORD, for you heard my voice. Over and over you have answered my prayers. You are a very merciful God. Amen.

Your Turn: Has God helped you? Has He answered your prayers? Take a moment to testify.