Tags

, ,

The LORD is there to rescue all who are discouraged and have given up hope (Psalm 34:18, CEV).

IMG_20160720_102505

Petrie Island, Ottawa, ON — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is rescuing.

Here is a personal confession, or maybe it’s just a pet peeve. I get annoyed with people who casually say, “If you need help, I’m there for you.” But when your hour of need arrives these same people are busy or unavailable.

The phrase, “I’m there for you,” makes me nervous. I won’t say it to others because I can’t predict my situation or response when the call for help comes. I may offer help, but I hate to promise something and then renege because I can’t deliver at that time or in the desired way.

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that there is someone we can always count on in trying times:

The LORD is there to rescue all who are discouraged and have given up hope (Psalm 34:18, CEV).

Unlike human help that is fickle or unpredictable, we can count on the LORD. He is always there. Always. He is always there to rescue all who are discouraged and have given up hope. If you are in that situation today, call out to Him. He is there for you!

Response: LORD God, you have helped me in the past during times of frustration and discouragement. You rescued me from drowning in my sorrows. I trust you now. Amen.

Your Turn: Has God “been there for you?” How has He helped you?