Tags

, , , , , ,

Open my mind and let me discover the wonders of your Law (Psalm 119:18, CEV).

Eric E. Wright 22

Cobourg, ON — photo courtesy of Eric E. Wright

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is wonders.

Yesterday’s post focused on the wonders of God as seen in creation. The sky declares His glory. But today’s focus is on the wonders of God’s word. Here is the psalmist’s prayer:

Open my mind and let me discover the wonders of your Law (Psalm 119:18, CEV).

The Law in this case is not simply referring to the Ten Commandments or the other precepts in the Jewish ceremonial and civil law. The Law in this verse refers to all of the inspired word of God, which for Christians includes all of the Old and New Testament.

There are wonders to be discovered in the pages of your Bible. Have you established a daily routine that includes reading the word of God? To discover the wonders of God’s word, we need to be immersing ourselves in God’s word, and as we do we do that we need to pray for a mind that is open to what God is saying to us. God’s word becomes wonderful as it is applied. Only then will it transform and give meaning to our lives.

Response: LORD God, today I want to open my mind to your word. Speak to me through it. I want to be a doer of your word. Help me make life changing discoveries in the Bible. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you have a habit of reading God’s word? Has the Holy Spirit spoken to you recently through the pages of your Bible?