Tags

, , , , , , ,

We cried on the way to plant our seeds,
    but we will
celebrate and shout
    as we bring in the crops (Psalm 126:6, CEV).

396

Newly planted rice stalks, Nagoya, Japan — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is celebration.

All those who like tears and suffering, please raise your hand. Did your hand shoot up in response to that request? No, you say. Well, if it’s any consolation, I didn’t raise my hand. Tears, pain and suffering are things I avoid at all cost. But strange as it may seem some of the greatest human triumphs come directly from experiencing suffering or loss.

On October 9, 2012, Malala Yousafzai was taken off a school bus and shot in the head by the Taliban for the ‘sin’ of seeking an education. But miraculously she survived. Despite tears and pain she has gone on to promote education for girls and win the Nobel Prize.

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that cries of anguish often precede shouts of celebration.

We cried on the way to plant our seeds, but we will celebrate and shout as we bring in the crops (Psalm 126:6, CEV).

If you are suffering now, take heart. God is well able to turn your sorrow into joy. Those who sow with tears will reap with songs of joy (Psalm 126:5, NIV).

Response: LORD God, I know my tears are not wasted. You value even my suffering. Work good out of those things that bring me pain. I will celebrate the victories you bring. Amen.

Your Turn: Are you suffering at the present time? Do you believe God hears your cries?