Tags

, , , , ,

Don’t worship foreign gods or bow down to gods you know nothing about (Psalm 81:9, CEV).

552

Early morning glory — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is bowing.

With each passing year it becomes more apparent that we live in a global village. My friendly neighbors across the street speak Arabic and were born in Lebanon. My barber is Chinese. My favorite restaurant serves Indian cuisine. My wife’s best friend is indigenous. The truth is we live in a multicultural society and to be frank, I like it that way.

What are we then to make of this injunction from the Psalms:

Don’t worship foreign gods or bow down to gods you know nothing about (Psalm 81:9, CEV).

In Psalm 81 the LORD, Yahweh, was addressing the wayward people of Israel, who had turned their backs on Him. They were chasing after other gods, rather than the LORD who had saved them from bondage in Egypt.

For many of us who live in countries with a Christian heritage, this command from the Psalms rings true. As a society we too have abandoned the Lord Jesus, who saved us from a cesspool of sin and corruption. I have met many foreigners and immigrants who are more zealous for the Lord Jesus than those who were born here.

When I was born again by the grace of the Spirit of God, I became a citizen of an eternal kingdom that transcends race and national borders. Today I bow before the King of that kingdom.

Response: LORD God, I want to be true to you, worshipping only you. Help me reflect your love to others today. Amen.

Your Turn: Are you a multicultural Christian?