Tags

, , , ,

Let my words and my thoughts be pleasing to you, LORD, because you are my mighty rock and my protector (Psalm 19:14, CEV).

Eric E.Wright 15

Crashing waves, Lake Ontario – photo courtesy of Eric E. Wright

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is the power of the tongue.

In yesterday’s post we were reminded that thoughts and words work together. Kind thoughts will lead to kind words. The same principle applies to angry thoughts. When our thoughts are steeped in jealousy or bitterness, we should not be surprised if the words we speak cut and wound. That’s why David’s prayer in Psalm 19 is so relevant for us today.

Let my words and my thoughts be pleasing to you, LORD, because you are my mighty rock and my protector (Psalm 19:14, CEV).

In Proverbs we read: A kind answer soothes angry feelings, but harsh words stir them up (Proverbs 15:1). All too often we are the authors of our own troubles. We lash out in anger rather than control our tongue and the result is we unleash a storm that rains down on our own heads.

Most often, words and thoughts that are pleasing to the LORD will also be pleasing to others because they reflect concern and compassion, rather than just our own self-interest.

Response: LORD God, I want my words and thoughts to be pleasing to you. Help me to consider others before myself just as Jesus taught us to do. Amen.

Your Turn: Are you like me? Do you think too much about yourself and too little about others?