Tags

, , , , , ,

It is useless to get up early and stay up late in order to earn a living. God takes care of his own, even while they sleep (Psalm 127:2, CEV).

214

Koi fish in a roadside canal. Kamakura, Japan — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is sleep.

In yesterday’s post we were reminded that God never sleeps. Because the LORD never sleeps, we should be able to take our needed rest in peace. Today’s verse from the Psalms affirms that truth.

It is useless to get up early and stay up late in order to earn a living. God takes care of his own, even while they sleep (Psalm 127:2, CEV).

We live in a high stress world. There are so many demands on our time and energy. It’s so easy to get caught up in doing, doing, doing with no time for sleep, rest or relaxation.

Sometimes I need to be reminded that God works while I sleep. The garden grows while I sleep. Answers come while I sleep. Troubles melt away while I sleep, because God takes care of his own. My anxious ways hint at a lack of faith on my part.

Response: LORD God, I place my troubles and concerns in your hands. I am so glad that you work the night shift so that I can enjoy my rest. I trust you to care for me. Amen.

Your Turn: Do worries keep you awake at times? Do you need reminders that God takes care of his own?