Tags

, , , ,

I sleep and wake up refreshed because you, LORD, protect me (Psalm 3:5, CEV).

Chimney - by Karen

Fireplace chimney—photo courtesy of Karen Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is sleep.

Did you get a good night’s sleep? I hope so. Sleep is essential for our health and well being. God designed us that way and when we don’t get the required amount of sleep our body protests. Ultimately a tired body is an unproductive body.

Worry and various forms of stress rob us of the sleep we need. But in today’s verse from the Psalms David makes this observation:

I sleep and wake up refreshed because you, LORD, protect me (Psalm 3:5, CEV).

 

David wrote these words when he was fleeing for his life from his son Absalom. Here he was in the midst of a huge disaster. His son had conspired against him and forced him to flee from Jerusalem. Yet despite the incredible stress King David was under, he slept well. He had committed his life to the LORD, so David could sleep in peace and awake refreshed.

You and I need quiet confidence in the LORD that can bring us through times of stress.

Response: LORD God, grant me confident faith that you will help and protect me during stressful times. My help comes from you. Thank you for the gift of refreshing sleep. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you sometimes have trouble sleeping? What works for you?