Tags

, , , , ,

I think about you before I go to sleep, and my thoughts turn to you during the night (Psalm 63:6, CEV).

D Adam Moon 2

Stairway to the moon — photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is sleep.

Our thoughts tell us a great deal about what we value, what attracts us and what we consider important. In general, when our mind is idle or at rest, it turns to the things we love. During such times, David’s mind turned to the LORD. We know this because he penned this verse:

I think about you before I go to sleep, and my thoughts turn to you during the night (Psalm 63:6, CEV).

Where do your thoughts go before you go to sleep? Does your mind turn to the Lord as you review the events of the day? Is there a moment of thanksgiving as you consider how events unfolded?

If we love the Lord and are in covenant relationship with Him, then our thoughts should turn to Him as naturally as taking our next breath. Sleep comes easily to those who commit their way and their day into God’s hands.

Response: LORD God, I want my mind to turn to you quickly and easily. I always want to be mindful of your love for me. Your eyes are on the sparrow and on all I do as well. Amen.

Your Turn: Does it require some self-discipline for you to think about the LORD?