Tags

, , , ,

I will sing your praises! You are my mighty fortress, and you love me (Psalm 59:7, CEV).

D Adam Sunset Grass 2

The delicate dance of grass at sunset — photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is the word fortress.

The most reassuring aspect of knowing that the LORD is our fortress is living in the knowledge that we are loved by God. The LORD is our fortress because He loves us. We can run to Him because He wants the best for us.

Today’s verse from the Psalms says just that:

I will sing your praises! You are my mighty fortress, and you love me (Psalm 59:7, CEV).

Rather than running from God, our heavenly Father calls us to run to Him and find our shelter and a place of rest in Him. David, the warrior king and author of many of the psalms, discovered that the LORD was his fortress. The fortress that David retreated to was built on the bedrock of God’s love for him.

The LORD who loves you, even as He loved David, welcomes you into His Fortress built on love.

Response: LORD God, I can’t thank you enough for loving me. You demonstrated that love by sending Jesus to die on a cross in my place. You are my fortress in the storms of life. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you sometimes doubt God’s love for you? How are you reassured of God’s continual love even when times are difficult?