Tags

, , ,

I may walk through valleys as dark as death, but I won’t be afraid. You are with me, and your shepherd’s rod makes me feel safe (Psalm 23:4, CEV).

IMG_20151007_124241

The Ottawa Valley viewed from the Champlain Lookout, Gatineau Park, QC — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is shepherding.

All of us have experienced dark days. And we will experience such days again in the future. Death is a reality that ultimately we all must face. But even in that dark moment, there is good news. We do not need to face death alone. Jesus, the Good Shepherd walks through that valley with us.

I may walk through valleys as dark as death, but I won’t be afraid. You are with me, and your shepherd’s rod makes me feel safe (Psalm 23:4, CEV).

As people of faith we can face death courage. Death is merely the portal to eternal life with Jesus. He is our redeemer, who with great courage stared death in the face and  then emerged  victorious on the other side.

I will fear no evil because Jesus, my companion, walks with me.

Response: LORD God, I can walk with confidence through dark days because you are with me. I feel safe because your shepherd’s rod protects me from all harm. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you see the shepherd’s rod as a rod of protection?