Tags

, , , , , , ,

You, LORD, are my shepherd. I will never be in need (Psalm 23:1, CEV).

Kingfisher Bay Retreat Centre 2

Quiet waters at Kingfisher Bay Retreat Centre — photo courtesy of Ruth Waring

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is shepherding.

The most endearing thought in all the scriptures may well be the thought of the LORD’s precious care for the sheep of His pasture. The Good Shepherd supplies all our needs. When we are in His care there is no need for worry.

David, the shepherd king, makes this bold declaration:

You, LORD, are my shepherd. I will never be in need (Psalm 23:1, CEV).

Our needs for food, clothing, shelter and loving companionship are constant. They are ever present with us. At some point I’ll be hungry today, and though I will eat well, tomorrow, I’ll be hungry again.

The only thing more constant than our neediness is our Shepherd’s ample provision. What wonderful assurance we can draw from Jesus’ care! He will supply all we need.

Response: LORD God, help me to live in the calm assurance that you are my provider. You have provided abundantly in the past and will continue your care into the future. Thank you. Amen.

Your Turn: Are you under the Good Shepherd’s care? Are you resting in His provision?