Tags

, , , , , ,

With God we will triumph; he’s the one who will trample our adversaries (Psalm 60:10, CEV).

IMG_20160417_153212

Early spring cycling triumph — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is victory.

Who are my adversaries? I think that’s a very important question to ask before I head off to battle. If I don’t know who or what I am fighting, how can I properly prepare? How can I advance against my enemies, when I know nothing about them? I might meet up with my foes and join their side by mistake.

I think many Christian believers find themselves in this situation. In many cases our enemies are not physical humans, but temptations, ideas and philosophies that draw us away from God. The first enemy that must be defeated often resides within. Wrong thinking and crippling habits keep us from achieving God’s will.

Our first concern needs to be our relationship with the Lord.

With God we will triumph; he’s the one who will trample our adversaries (Psalm 60:10, CEV).

The first fight we must win is against the enemy within. When we give the Lord Jesus full control, victory is sure to follow. He’s the one who will trample our adversaries. 

Response: LORD God, help me to identify the adversaries that war against my soul. I want to live in the victory you already won for me through the cross and the resurrection. Amen.

Your Turn: Are there thoughts and habits you need to overcome? Have you taken them to the Lord?