Tags

, , , , , ,

A warhorse is a bad bet for victory;
    it can’t save despite its great strength.
But look here: the LORD’s eyes watch all who honor him,
    all who wait for his faithful love (Psalm 33:17-18, CEV).

IMG_20160417_153230

River Marsh in Early Spring — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is victory.

There is something very puzzling, very uncertain, about victory. Victory doesn’t always go to the strongest man, the largest army, or the fastest runner. Sometimes victory goes to the least expected; it goes to the underdog.

Today’s verse from the Psalms draws attention to the uncertainty of victory.

A warhorse is a bad bet for victory; it can’t save despite its great strength.
But look here: the LORD’s eyes watch all who honor him, all who wait for his faithful love (Psalm 33:17-18, CEV).

Victory does not come solely from man’s ingenuity, talent or strength. Ultimately, victory comes from the LORD. The outcome of every race, every battle, every sporting event is determined by the LORD. He foreknew the outcome before there was time. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me.

My only response to such an awesome God is to honor Him, to yield my will and my very life to Him.

Response: LORD God, I wait for your faithful love. My personal struggles and victories are known to you. Your eyes are always on me. Help me to live responsibly in that knowledge. Amen.

Your Turn: Is it a comfort or a constraint to know that God is watching you?