Tags

, , , , , , ,

Forget each wrong I did when I was young. Show how truly kind you are and remember me (Psalm 25:7, CEV).

IMG_20160414_164809

Treed Flood Plain, Ottawa River — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is remembering.

How can God forget? He knows everything. He knows everything I have done and everything I will do, before it has even entered my mind. The petition prayed here in Psalm 25 must be doomed to fail.

Forget each wrong I did when I was young. Show how truly kind you are and remember me (Psalm 25:7, CEV).

Strange as it may seem God can be forgetful. When we repent of our sins, He chooses to forget that those sins ever happened. But don’t take my word on this topic. The prophet Jeremiah declares this word from the LORD, “I will forgive their sins and forget the evil things they have done” (Jeremiah 31:34, CEV).

That’s an amazing promise. If God can forget our sins, maybe we should do the same. We should not allow the guilt of them torment us any longer. Our sins are forgiven and forgotten when we confess them to our gracious heavenly Father.

Response: LORD God, I am so glad that you choose to remember me and forget my sins. You love like no one else can. Thank you for the forgiveness that is available because of the shed blood of Jesus. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you spend too much time remembering sins that the Lord has forgiven and forgotten?