Tags

, , , , , ,

Remember his miracles and all his wonders and his fair decisions (Psalm 105:5, CEV).

Dragon Fly

Dragonfly – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is remembering.

Not all of us have experienced personal miracles—clearly identifiable, direct interventions of God in our lives. But I believe we have all experienced wonders. When I look at the photo of the dragonfly above, I am looking at a wonder. The gossamer transparent wings are a marvel. The vibrant colors are spectacular. It’s agility in flight is amazing to behold. If God created only one insect like this it would be wonderful, but our world is filled with a variety of diverse life forms that are simply astonishing.

Is it any wonder then that the psalmist gives us this advice?

Remember his miracles and all his wonders and his fair decisions (Psalm 105:5, CEV).

We are surrounded by God’s wonders. We simply need to open our eyes to them. How sad it is when we lose an appreciation for the beauty and awe in God’s creation.

Response: LORD God, awaken me to the beauty in your creation around me. Give me young eyes and an eager mind to grasp how wonderful you are. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you see and appreciate God’s wonders in nature? Reflect on a time when God’s miracles and wonders made a strong impression on you.