Tags

, , , , ,

Our LORD, I will remember the things you have done, your miracles of long ago (Psalm 77:11, CEV).

IMG_1581 (2)

Shine in me – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is remembering.

I am by nature a skeptic. Faith does not come to me easily; I struggle with it. I am the sort of person who demands proof. Thomas, the doubter, and I are good friends. But when miracles happen, they grab my attention. When they happen to me personally, I am all ears, so today’s verse from the Psalms has special meaning for me.

Our LORD, I will remember the things you have done, your miracles of long ago (Psalm 77:11, CEV).

For seven years as a young man I suffered from chronic pain in my left knee. I had arthroscopic surgery, cortisone shots, and extensive physiotherapy. I frequently asked for prayer. Nothing brought lasting relief. Then at an all-night prayer meeting something happened. I went home with a sore knee but when I awoke the next morning I was completely pain free. It was miraculous–physically and spiritually transformational.

God’s miracles are worth remembering. They instill hope for today and faith for the future.

Response: LORD God, thank you for your past interventions in my life. They have brought me close to you. As I recall those times fill me with faith in you for today. Amen.

Your Turn: Have you experienced a miracle in your life?