Tags

, , , , , ,

As a deer gets thirsty for streams of water, I truly am thirsty for you, my God. In my heart, I am thirsty for you, the living God (Psalm 42:1-2, CEV).

IMG_20140518_194705

Flowing Streams — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is thirst.

Our bodies crave water. That’s only natural since our bodies are over 90% water. We can go more than 60 days without food, but only about 10 days without water.

The question I have for you is how long can you go without God? How long can you go without communicating with Him? How long can you go without hearing from God? The psalmist had a constant craving for God.

As a deer gets thirsty for streams of water, I truly am thirsty for you, my God. In my heart, I am thirsty for you, the living God (Psalm 42:1-2, CEV).

As I am writing this post, I occasionally  pause to take a sip of water. In the same way we should routinely find our hearts and minds turning to the Lord. Prayer and open communication with the Lord should be as natural for us as that sip of coffee or whatever beverage you crave.

In my heart I am thirsty for you, the living God. Can you say the same? I hope so.

Response: LORD God, give me a constant craving for you. I want to speak to you and hear from you. Be an essential of life for me, just like that thirsty deer. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you have a desire to hear from God and be close to Him?