Tags

, , , , ,

He gives justice to the poor and food to the hungry. The LORD sets prisoners free (Psalm 146:7, CEV).

IMG_20140906_172641

Ottawa River as seen from Greens Creek Point — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is hunger.

Our Lord taught us to pray, Give us this day our daily bread.”

As I think over my life, I can’t think of a single day when that prayer has not been answered. In other words, the Lord has had an unbroken record of faithfulness. I have never gone to bed hungry except by my own choice. 

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that God is the one who daily supplies our needs.

He gives justice to the poor and food to the hungry. The LORD sets prisoners free (Psalm 146:7, CEV).

The Lord’s provision goes beyond physical needs. As the psalmist declares, the LORD also provides justice and sets prisoners free. Worry often holds me as a prisoner. What about you?

But when I consider the LORD’s faithfulness, there is no place left for worry. He banishes hunger along with worry. We have this assurance: God will take care of all your needs with the wonderful blessings that come from Christ Jesus! (Philippians 4:19, CEV).

Response: LORD God, thank you for your daily provision of good things. You have been more than faithful. My heart overflows with thanks for your goodness. Amen.

Your Turn: Has God been faithful in providing for you? Has He come through for you?