Tags

, , , , ,

To everyone who is thirsty, he gives something to drink; to everyone who is hungry, he gives good things to eat (Psalm 107:9, CEV).

IMG_20151103_171141

Evening Silhouette

 

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is hunger.

Hunger comes in many forms. As the day progresses at various times I am hungry. At times I may even think I am starving. Of course this is nonsense. After a week without food I might get down to a more healthy weight, but even then I would not be starving. True starvation is more than missing a mid afternoon snack. Most of us have lost touch with the true meaning of hunger.

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that God is the one who satisfies our hunger.

To everyone who is thirsty, he gives something to drink; to everyone who is hungry, he gives good things to eat (Psalm 107:9, CEV).

Our greatest hunger may not be for food. We may be most hungry for love or acceptance, inner peace or forgiveness. Whatever your need, bring it to God. He is the suppler of every good thing.

Response: LORD God, thank you for being my supplier. Every good and perfect gift comes from you. I give thanks for your goodness. Amen.

Your Turn: What is your greatest need today? Will God be your supplier?