Tags

, , , , , ,

Each generation will announce to the next your wonderful and powerful deeds (Psalm 145:4, CEV).

Scan_20160329_160107

One generation to the next — photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is proclamation.

When we think of proclaiming God’s goodness, our minds quickly go to the ends of the earth. But the most important place to live out the gospel is at home. And the most important person you will announce the good news to is your own son or daughter.

Moses had these instructions for the people of Israel: These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up (Deuteronomy 6:6-7).

Among family members talking about God and our faith should be as natural as breathing. After all, God is involved in our daily lives. Then these words from the psalms will come true for us.

Each generation will announce to the next your wonderful and powerful deeds (Psalm 145:4, CEV).

The day will come when Jesus welcomes us into our eternal home. I don’t want to be living there alone.

Response: LORD God, help me to truly appreciate my family. Help me to radiate your love to those near and dear to me. Help me to live before them as a person of integrity. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you find it easy to talk about God with your family?