Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was in terrible trouble when I called out to you, but from your temple you heard me and answered my prayer (Psalm 18:6, CEV).

IMG_1573 (1)

Beyond the Door – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is prayer.

Today’s photo speaks powerfully to me. It shows the sunrise as seen through the open double doors of the country church where I grew up on the prairies. God is not only in his temple. His glory is shining forth across the earth and the sky.

When we are in distress, we can call out to God and He responds. Often He will give us a sign of His presence. We can see that in today’s verse from the Psalms:

I was in terrible trouble when I called out to you, but from your temple you heard me and answered my prayer (Psalm 18:6, CEV).

Jesus is our example. In his great suffering he called out to his heavenly Father. And his Father heard and answered his prayer. But Jesus still had to endure the agony of the cross.

But thanks be to God! The glory of the resurrection lies beyond the suffering and beyond the open door. Before us is the door to eternal life that Jesus opened.

Response: LORD God, in my time of need I call out to you. In your mercy answer me, just as you answered the prayers of Jesus, your son. Give me a sign of your presence with me. Amen.

Your Turn: Has the Lord answered your prayers from His temple?