Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every day, you are kind, and at night you give me a song as my prayer to you, the living LORD God (Psalm 42:8, CEV).

IMG_1577

Night Song – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is prayer.

If our day starts with prayer to the Lord, then it might well end with a song of thanks sung to Him. Between morning and evening, we experience the kindness of God. Our day is book-ended in communion with the LORD our Creator.

We can see this daily rhythm in today’s verse from the Psalms:

Every day, you are kind, and at night you give me a song as my prayer to you, the living LORD God (Psalm 42:8, CEV).

This is Holy Week and as we reflect on this sacred time, we should consider how Jesus spent this week. I am sure there was a rhythm to his days—days that were leading to the cross. Surely they were days marked by prayer and communion with his Father.

Punctuate your day with prayer. We know Jesus did just that.

Response: Living LORD God, I bring my songs of thanks to you. Day by day you are kind. Your greatest kindness was sending Jesus. Thank you for loving me. Amen.

Your Turn: How do you incorporate prayer into the rhythm of your day?