Tags

, , , , ,

You willingly forgive, and your love is always there for those who pray to you (Psalm 86:5, CEV).

M Taylor Plum blossoms 2

Plum Blossoms, Nagoya, Japan — Photo courtesy of Matthew Taylor

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is forgiveness.

We are all familiar with the phrase: Well, I guess if I have to. It’s usually signals a lot of reluctance on the part of the speaker.

When we think about God, we may feel that since He is perfect and holy, He may be reluctant to forgive our many sins. Just the opposite is true and today’s verse from the Psalms makes this crystal clear.

You willingly forgive, and your love is always there for those who pray to you (Psalm 86:5, CEV).

Jesus beautifully portrayed the love of our heavenly Father when he told the story of the prodigal son.

The younger son got up and started back to his father. But when he was still a long way off, his father saw him and felt sorry for him. He ran to his son and hugged and kissed him (Luke 15: 20, CEV).

Our heavenly Father shows no reluctance to forgive.

Response: Father God, I come to you. Thanks for running to me when I repent and ask for forgiveness. I do not deserve such a loving response. It is beyond wonderful. Amen.

Your Turn: Have you seen God as reluctant to forgive?