Tags

, , , , , , ,

I will praise you, LORD God, for your mighty deeds and your power to save (Psalm 71:16, CEV).

D Adam 8

Power to Save – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is power.

What is power without a purpose? I’m reminded of a young buck revving his engine, so he can pop the clutch, spin his tires and squeal off in a blaze of glory, dust, and bravado. There’s really not much purpose in it, unless I suppose it’s to impress.

At times God will display His power, but unlike the young buck showing off his hot car, the LORD has a meaningful purpose in His display of power. His purpose is our salvation.

I will praise you, LORD God, for your mighty deeds and your power to save (Psalm 71:16, CEV).

In the Old Testament, in a grand display of miraculous power, the LORD rescued his people from slavery in Egypt. Israel was saved by God’s power.

In the New Testament in a grand display of miraculous power, the LORD raised Jesus from the dead, and in doing this He defeated death, our age-old enemy. Jesus rescued us from slavery to sin. Praise God! His power has purpose.

Response: LORD God, I praise you for the grand rescue mission you sent your Son to accomplish. Thank you for resurrection morning and your power to save me. Amen.

Your Turn: Do you appreciate God’s power to save?