Tags

, , , , ,

You are strong, and your mighty power put the mountains in place (Psalm 65:6, CEV).

D Adam 7

Misty Mountains – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is power.

Nothing speaks to me about God’s power like mountains. Maybe it’s because I grew up on the Canadian prairies, and I didn’t see any mountains until I was eighteen. When seen for the first time, the grandeur of the Canadian Rockies is simply breathtaking.

That feeling of awe is likely what led the psalmist to write these words: You are strong, and your mighty power put the mountains in place (Psalm 65:6, CEV).

We know one thing with certainty. God can move mountains. Their existence declares his power. But I also know God can move the personal mountains that I face in my life. Jesus said, “If you have faith in God and don’t doubt, you can tell this mountain to get up and jump into the sea, and it will” (Mark 11:23).

What about you? Are there mountains you would like to see moved?

Response: LORD God, you are the strong One—the mountain mover. Move the mountain in my life that keeps me from being close to you. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Your Turn: What mountain would you like God to move?