Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Some people trust the power of chariots or horses, but we trust you, LORD God (Psalm 20:7, CEV).

ID-100175433 (1) (2)

Galloping Horses – Image courtesy of Tina Phillips at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is power.

I don’t have much trust in chariots and horses. For me horses are animals of beauty and entertainment. But then I don’t live in the Bronze Age, when horses and chariots were indicators of military might.

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that a nation’s defenses are more than just a matter of having a powerful military. Some people trust the power of chariots or horses,
but we trust you, LORD God (Psalm 20:7, CEV).

Tanks, bombs and fighter planes are not the first line of defense for any nation. The first line of defense is integrity, honesty and morality rooted in our faith in the LORD God, our Creator. When those defenses are undermined in the population, trouble and national decline are sure to follow.

Our God is more powerful than any army. My best defense is aligning my life with Him.

Response: LORD God, I put my trust in you. Help me to live a life of honesty and integrity. Be the defender of my nation. Holy Spirit, be at work among the people. Amen.

Your Turn: Why do you think nations go into decline?