Tags

, , , , , ,

All creation, come praise the name of the LORD. Praise his name alone. The glory of God is greater than heaven and earth (Psalm 148:13, CEV).

DSCN1676

Autumn Splendor, Gatineau Park – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is glory.

There’s a rather common saying: The sum is greater than its parts. While that may not be strictly correct in mathematics, it makes perfect sense in real life experience. The full picture is so much better than segments seen in sequence.

If I divided the autumn picture above into six equal portions, and showed you them sequentially, they would not have the same impact as the entire picture seen as a whole.

In the same way, our picture of the glory of God is like many small snapshots. I am not sure we could handle the full glory of God, if it was revealed to us. But today’s verse from the Psalms calls us to see that greater sum.

All creation, [me included] come praise the name of the LORDPraise his name alone. The glory of God is greater than heaven and earth (Psalm 148:13, CEV).

Response: LORD God, let me catch glimpses of your glory today, but remind me too that you are so much bigger than I can think or even imagine. You are an awesome God! Amen.

Your Turn: Do you think your picture of God is too small?