Tags

, , , , ,

I have seen your power and your glory in the place of worship (Psalm 63:2, CEV).

Cathedral 2014-07-10

Ottawa Cathedral – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is glory.

This is David’s heartfelt statement of fact, “I have seen your power and your glory in the place of worship” (Psalm 63:2, CEV).

I stand in full agreement with David’s profession. I too can say I have seen God’s power and glory in the place of worship. I have seen God visibly at work in the lives of his people as they gather for worship. I have sensed his presence with me at church.

The great pity is that there are many who have not encountered God–truly experienced His power and glory in the place of worship. Transformation occurs when we show up and the LORD shows up. It’s His power and His glory that change us, not a hymn or a sermon, though those have their place. But they fall flat unless we meet God in them.

Our prayer should always be to have our eyes opened to the glory of God in the place of worship.

Response: LORD God, open my eyes to you. I want to see you. I want others to see you. I need to be changed by your presence in my life and my place of worship. Amen.

Your Turn: Is there something you do that makes you more aware of God?