Tags

, , , , , ,

The LORD is merciful! He is kind and patient, and his love never fails (Psalm 103:8, CEV).

D Adam 5

Wild Flower – photo courtesy of Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is patience.

Can love be impatient? I certainly can be. But true love is not about me. It’s always about the other person. Impatience is all about me. The other person has not moved according to my schedule, so I am irritated or displeased.

Today’s verse from the Psalms reminds us that God is loving and patient with usThe LORD is merciful! He is kind and patient, and his love never fails (Psalm 103:8, CEV).

I wonder if the apostle Paul had the words from this Psalm in mind when he penned those famous lines: Love is kind and patient, never jealous, boastful, proud, or  rude. Love isn’t selfish or quick tempered. It doesn’t keep a record of wrongs that others do (1 Corinthians 13:4-5, CEV).

My impatience reveals my need for a greater level of God’s love, and mercy in my life. The love, mercy and patience that I have received from the LORD needs to be extended to others.

Response: LORD God, fill me with unselfish love so that I can be patient with those that don’t quickly conform to my wishes. Give me patient love. Amen.

Your Turn: How do we break our habits of self-focus?