Tags

, , , , ,

Discover for yourself that the LORD is kind. Come to him for protection, and you will be glad (Psalm 34:8, CEV).

DSCN1670

Gatineau Park trail – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is kindness.

I don’t know about you, but I love heading off the beaten path and doing some exploring. I like trying new foods, enjoy meeting new people, and seeing new sites. I suppose it’s because I’m incurably curious. There are things to discover.

Today’s verse from the Psalms invites us to do some exploring and make a discovery. Discover for yourself that the LORD is kind. Come to him for protection, and you will be  glad (Psalm 34:8, CEV). 

We can read about the kindness of God. We can hear about it from others, but there is nothing quite like experiencing God’s kindness firsthand.

Exploration and discovery always require a step of faith. God invites us to give Him a try—to take that step.

Response: LORD God, give me the courage to take steps of faith that bring me closer to you. I want to discover and experience your love and kindness for myself. Amen.

Your Turn: Have you discovered God’s kindness firsthand?