Tags

, , , , , ,

You are merciful, LORD!
    You are kind and patient
    and always loving 
(Psalm 145:8, CEV).

Eric E. Wright 5

Sunset over Lake Ontario – photo by Eric E. Wright

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is mercy.

What is God like? Gaze into the sunset pictured above and you will get a very good idea of what God is like. He is splendid, glorious and creative–a God of diversity and variety. We can deduce this from observing nature.

God puts on a splendid show before our eyes every day. The heavens keep telling the wonders of God, and the skies declare what he has done (Psalm 19:1, CEV).

But today’s verse from the Psalms also tells us the LORD is merciful, kind, patient and always loving. The word of God reveals more fully to us the character of God. That’s why I read the Bible.

We see God in nature, we learn about Him through His book, the Bible, and we experience Him through the presence of the Holy Spirit in our lives.

Response: LORD God, I want to know you better. I want to see more of you in my life. I want to experience your mercy, kindness and love. Open my eyes to see you all around me. Amen.

Your Turn: Where do you most often see God?