Tags

, , , ,

God Most High, have pity on me! Have mercy. I run to you for safety. In the shadow of your wings, I seek protection till danger dies down (Psalm 57:1, CEV).

IMG_20151014_112247

Clematis – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is mercy.

Does God have wings? You might think so based on this verse from the Psalms.

In our attempts to picture God we often give Him anthropomorphic qualities. In simple terms that means we turn Him into a human. The truth is God is a spirit and any attempt to ‘picture’ Him will be grossly inadequate at best, and at worst idolatrous.

Nonetheless, Jesus reminds us that he is eager and willing to shelter us“Jerusalem, Jerusalem! Your people have killed the prophets and have stoned the messengers who were sent to you. I have often wanted to gather your people, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings. But you wouldn’t let me” (Luke 13:34, CEV).

God in the person of Jesus is willing and eager to show us mercy, if we will just come to Him. Take time to come to Him today.

Response: LORD God, I need your mercy. I set my pride aside and ask for your help. Keep me safe from all forms of harm in the shadow of your wings. Amen.

Your Turn: Has God been your shelter in the storms of life?