Tags

, , , ,

I am worn out from waiting for you to keep your word. When will you have mercy (Psalm 119:82, CEV)?

IMG_20160116_110120

Snowy Woods – Photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is mercy.

When we are in a really tight spot, God’s mercy cannot arrive fast enough. We want help immediately.

Our impatience can be part of the problem. In God’s mercy, He has us wait. In the waiting process our situation may stay the same, but we change. God’s Spirit works on us.

I fear the kind of person I would become if God answered my every request immediately. 

That doesn’t mean we should never pour out our complaint to God as the psalmist does here. I am worn out from waiting for you to keep your word. When will you have mercy (Psalm 119:82, CEV)?

Bottled up frustration is never a good thing, especially when that frustration is directed at God. Are you frustrated waiting for God’s mercy? Take it to Him in prayer.

Response: LORD God, I need your help. I need your mercy. I need your patience. Give me the grace I need for today. Your word and your good promises sustain me. Amen.

Your Turn: Are you impatient as you wait for God’s mercy?