Tags

, , , ,

The LORD will bring justice and show mercy to all who serve him (Psalm 135:14, CEV).

IMG_20151023_172121

October glory – photo by Karen Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is mercy.

Can there be justice without mercy? The opposite question is also valid. Can there be mercy without justice?

When I have been wronged, I call out for justice. When I am the one who has committed the wrong I call out for mercy.

It takes a wise judge to bring both justice and mercy together in the decisions he or she renders. Fortunately for us, the LORD is a wise judge. The LORD will bring justice and show mercy to all who serve him (Psalm 135:14, CEV).

The question we need to ask ourselves is, “Am I serving Him or am I serving myself?”

Response: LORD God, give me eyes to see your mercy and justice at work in my life and the lives of others around me. Give me a willing heart to serve you. Amen.

Your Turn: Is there a time you remember calling out for justice? Do you remember asking for mercy?