Tags

, , , , , ,

The sacrifice that honors me is a thankful heart. Obey me, and I, your God, will show my power to save (Psalm 50:23, CEV).

Eric E.Wright 15

My Lighthouse in the Storm – photo by Eric E. Wright

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is salvation.

Here’s a rather uncomfortable truth about God. He wants us to obey Him. We want Him to save us from our troubles, but He in turn wants our obedience.

For the independent, I’ll-do-it-my-way crowd, this call for obedience is a real downer. Who wants to follow a Savior who requires obedience?

Jesus said to his disciples: If you love me, you will do as I command (John 14:15).

We prefer salvation without sacrifice. I want Jesus to save me, but I don’t want him telling me what to do. Ah, but this salvation he offers requires sacrifice. It cost Jesus his life. He went to the cross to purchase my salvation. That’s a steep price.

Our joy-filled gratitude and willing obedience are a fitting response.

Response: LORD God, I am thankful for the salvation you purchased for me through Jesus death. Help me today to hear your voice and be obedient to your commands. Amen.

Your Turn: Are the Lord’s commands difficult for you to obey?