Tags

, , , , ,

Turn and come to my rescue. Show your wonderful love and save me, LORD (Psalm 6:4, CEV).

Eric E.Wright 13

Lake Ontario surf – photo by Eric E. Wright

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is salvation.

In today’s verse from the Psalms, the psalmist pleads with God to, “Turn and come to my rescue.”

Though I don’t doubt the psalmist’s sincerity, I wonder who really needs to do the turning. Does God turn His back on us, or is it we who turn our back on God?

From personal experience I can say I am prone to walk away from God until…

Until I get in trouble, and then I come running back to Him pleading to be rescued.

Fortunately, God continues to show us His wonderful love despite our blunders. He is the LORD, who saves us from ourselves.

Response: LORD God, thank you for being the God of my salvation. You have rescued me over and over again. You are a kind and loving Savior. Amen.

Your Turn: Is your heart turned to God or are you prone to wander?