Tags

, , , ,

Because of your great mercy, I come to your house, LORD, and I am filled with wonder as I bow down to worship at your holy temple (Psalm 5:7, CEV).

IMG_9034_0

Landestreu Church, near MacNutt, SK — photo by Donald Adam

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is holiness.

Mercy and holiness belong together. When I think about my personal holiness, or rather the lack of it, I am reminded that I need God’s mercy. Without His mercy there is no forgiveness and no peace.

Rather than frighten us away, God’s holiness should draw us to worship Him. In His holy temple we bow down. This is where we find mercy and the strength we need day by day.

Take some time to bow before God today. Swallow your pride and open your heart to the mercy of God. Even as I write this, I know it’s what I need to do.

Response: LORD God, you are perfectly holy. I am not. I need your mercy, your love and forgiveness. Wash me clean by the blood of your son, Jesus. Amen.

Your Turn: How do mercy and holiness come together for you?