Tags

, , , ,

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him (Psalm 28:7 NIV).

DSCN1159

Percé Rock. Percé, QC – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is joy.

In Psalm 28 we read that David’s heart leaped for joy and he sang out his praise to God. But in this Advent season we read of someone else who had a similar experience.

Elizabeth, the mother of John the Baptist reports having this experience when she was greeted by the mother of our Lord, “As soon as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. Blessed is she who has believed that the Lord would fulfill his promises to her!” (Luke 1:44-45 NIV).

Jesus our redeemer is coming into the world. Leap for joy!

Response: LORD God, thank you for sending Jesus – a real flesh and blood baby into the world. You fulfilled all your promises and have come to dwell among us. Oh, what joy! Amen.

Your Turn: Is Jesus dwelling in your heart through the Holy Spirit?