Tags

, , , ,

The precepts of the LORD are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the LORD are radiant, giving light to the eyes (Psalm 19:8, NIV).

DSCN1024

Percé, QC – photo by David Kitz

Reflection

This week’s I Love the Psalms theme is joy.

To put it simply the LORD’s ways are higher and better than our ways. I always want the shortcut, the easy way. But my shortcut and my quick fix can short circuit the excellent plan that God has in mind for me.

We all want joy, but that joy comes in fullest measure when we patiently obey God’s commands. There is a joy that comes from doing His will that the world cannot receive or comprehend.

Response: LORD God, I want to experience your joy. Give me eyes to see your beautiful plan. Give me a heart that willingly obeys your word. Amen.

Your Turn: Is your life built on the rock solid word of God?